Biosem Laurels 2018 – Department of Biochemistry

Biosem Laurels -2018 a Student Seminar On Renal Function Test

The department of Biochemistry organized “Biosem Laurels 2018”, a student seminar cum award function for students on 24th May 2018 between 11am to 1.00pm. The topic for seminar was “Renal Function Test”

Ms. Zeba Firdose and Ms. Ritu, I MBBS students were the moderators of the programme. The programme was attended by the staff from various departments and I year MBBS students.

The programme started at 11am with Scientific session

The following five students were the speakers for the seminar.

  1. Ms. Anu josseph- Introduction to Renal physiology

  2. Ms. Amrutha G Nambiar- Overview of Renal function Test

  3. Ms. Shruti Nair- Glomerules function Test

  4. Mr. Vivek H R- Role of creatnine in assessment of RFT

  5. Ms. Anarghya Marpalli- Renal tubular function test

Students presented the topics excellently.

This was followed by formal inaugural function. Dr. M G Shivaramu, principal, AIMS, Dr, Rajendra , Prof & Head, Dept. of Anatomy, Dr, Anand, Asst. Professor, Dept. of Physiology and Mr. B K Umesh, Registrar, AIMS were the invited guests.

Welcome address was rendered by Dr. Aliya Nusrath, Prof & Head, Dept. of Biochemistry and the programme was inaugurated by ceremonial watering of tulsi plant. Dr. M G Shivaramu, principal, AIMS, addressed the gathering with motivational speech. After the inaugural function, the students were awarded for their achievements under various categories as follows. Dr. Rajeshwari A, Associate professor, Dept. of Biochemistry, moderated the award ceremony.

Thirty four volunteer students for JVTM and the presenters of student seminar on RFT were awarded with certificates. This was followed by awards for highest attendance to Ms. S Rashmi (100% attendance), Mr. Chandrashekhar K. Upadhya (100% attendance), Ms. Akanksha Mohan (99.5% attendance), Ms Ayesha Zahid (99.5% attendance) and Mr. Pavan Kalyan. AG (99.5% attendance).

One student from each batch was awarded as “venous star of the batch” as follows

IA- Ms. Amrutha G Nambiar

IB -Mr. Chandrashekhar K. Upadhya

IIA-Ms. Irene Rose Joseph

IIB-Ms. Parul Chauhan

IIIA-Mr. Poorna Chandra

IIIB-Ms. Yashaswini.G

The award for “Best academic performance” was bagged by Mr. Paul Mathews.

Finally the highest award was conferred to Ms. Shruti Nair as “Best student of the year in Biochemistry”

The programme was concluded, by rendering the vote of thanks by the moderators.